Crossroads

amish_buggy_sign

Just had a interesting experience today at my lovely natural foods co-op. As I was getting out of my car, walking into the store their were these two amish guys unloading produce from their truck. I had this feeling like, wow, two worlds colliding. Seward natural foods co-op is right on Franklin Ave in Mpls, a very culturally diverse area. As I got my grocery cart and entered the store, one of the Amish guys was walking towards me with his vegetables. He had the classic amish/mushroom haircut and all. It was neat to see that the Seward Co-op supports farmers like that…made me want to jump in the back of their truck and go back to the farm with them.

~ by rachellovesfood on December 2, 2008.

One Response to “Crossroads”

  1. I cannot wait to go there with you when we get back (100 days and counting!) Have you read Omnivore’s Dilemma yet? My only prayer is that we can afford to eat according to its principles 🙂 I miss you.
    -liz

Leave a Reply

 
